DUI Lawyers in Delaware Providing An Aggressive Defense for Your Case
In Ohio and across the nation, it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above. If you have been arrested for drunk driving, we strongly advise you to retain the immediate representation of The Law Office of Brian Jones, LLC. Just because you were arrested does not mean that you are guilty of a crime. You can fight your criminal charges with the help of our experienced DUI attorney. We can carefully review and challenge any evidence against you, potentially making a huge difference in the outcome of your case.
What Do I Need to Know About Ohio OVI State Laws?
Under Ohio law, drunk driving is known as operating a vehicle under the influence (OVI) (Chapter 4510: DRIVER’S LICENSE SUSPENSION, CANCELLATION, REVOCATION). You can be charged with an OVI for driving while under the influence of alcohol or any drug that may impair your driving ability or reaction time. These impairing substances can include illegal drugs, prescription medicines, and even over-the-counter medications which can cause drowsiness and other problems.
Essentially, you can be arrested for an OVI if your BAC is .08 or above or if it is shown that you were under the influence of some kind of substance when a law enforcement officer pulled you over. Those who are under the legal drinking age can be charged with an OVI if they drive with a BAC of over .02 percent. Commercial drivers who operate a vehicle with a BAC of .04 percent or higher may be charged with an OVI, which could cause them to lose their job and license.
What are the Legal Consequences of a DUI Conviction?
Facing the prospect of conviction for operating a vehicle under the influence can be terrifying and confusing. Many individuals may not even realize the severe nature of driving drunk and the associated consequences that come with it. Penalties may vary on the number of previous DUI charges, the occurrence of any accidents resulting in injury or death and if the driver cooperated with Ohio’s complied consent law. The implied consent law dictates that an individual must agree to blood or breath testing if suspected of drunk driving or face suspension of the right to drive.
In addition to the fines and potential jail time, there are many other penalties that can arise if you are convicted. For example, if you do not take immediate action after you are charged with an OVI, you may lose your drivers’ license. Without a license, you may have trouble getting to work or completing your job duties if you drive for a living.
Can a DUI Attorney Provide Me with the Best Chance to Dodge a Conviction?
Drunk driving cases are often very technical, involving scientific data concerning blood alcohol tests, equipment, and results. Because of this complexity, you will need the legal assistance of a capable attorney. By consulting with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney at our firm immediately after an arrest, you can significantly increase your chances of a positive case outcome. Our lawyers are prepared to handle your charges no matter how insignificant or complicated they appear.
To schedule an initial consultation at our Delaware, Ohio, location, email us or call 740-217-4273. We are prepared to assist you with your case. Se habla español.